Hermann House Inn History
The Hermann House Inn building was built in 1869 by Eugene Nasse as a general store and residence. Eugene was the son of the influential physician and druggist August Nasse. Eugene was a tinsmith by trade and with a talent for business. By the age of 27 he was in business selling stoves and tinware. By the time he was 30, he had amassed a considerable fortune in property and personal wealth.
The first part of the present building was built in 1868-1869 as a two-story gable front building that was used as a general store and his residence.
The third story and Mansard roof (a distinctive French style; emphasized by a four-sided hip roof) were added in 1883.
In 1883, Eugene Nasse always the entrepreneur, built an evaporating apparatus to dry apples in the area under the Mansard roof. During apple picking season, the evaporators ran day and night.
Eugene Nasse sold the building in 1886 to a furniture dealer, August C. Leisner, who soon opened a furniture store. Eventually a Funeral Parlor was added to the business and the property operated as a Blumer Furniture Company and Funeral Parlor for 75 years until 1989.
The City of Hermann purchased the historic building and housed the Hermann City Hall for 20 years until 2005.
In 2007, the building was purchased, remodeled extensively and opened the Hermann House Inn in 2008 as luxury suites for Hermann visitors in the heart of Hermann wine country.
Chris Oetting and Laura, are the friendly innkeepers ready to make sure your stay is enjoyable and a memorable experience.
Oh, if these walls could talk…